URBAN SETTING


5POINTZ…..Just when you think you’ve seen it all.

During one of my last few days in NYC…I found myself wandering around Long Island City. I thought I saw all that could be seen, done, experienced in NY. Then I stumbled upon 5POINTZ. I was wrong.

I definitely have experienced a lot in my last 3 years in NY. I’ve been to the bottom of Brooklyn, to the tip of Long Island, been throughout the Bronx, experienced Staten Island, took a few trips upstate, and partied through Connecticut. Little did I know there was the mecca of graffiti right in front of me. Welcome to 5POINTZ.

While exploring the premises I found several artists working on new murals. There was also a photo shoot  taken place. Every single mural was gorgeous. The work covered from the ground to the roof. Almost every piece space available on the building was covered in graffiti. Ill let the photos speak for themselves. Below is a brief history followed by photos.

(The following was taken from wikipedia and can be found at this link…http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/5_Pointz)

5 Pointz: The Institute of Higher Burnin’[1] or the 5Pointz Aerosol Art Center, Inc. is an outdoor art exhibit space in Long Island City, New York, considered to be the world’s premiere “graffiti Mecca,” where aerosol artists from around the globe paint colorful pieces on the walls of a 200,000-square-foot factory building.[2] The complex owned by Long Island developer Gerald Wolkoff houses the Crane Street Studios in which 200 artists pay below market rents for studio space. In 2009 a 450-square foot studio was listed as renting for $600/month.[3]

On a side note….I have slowed down on how often I post new articles to my site. Although, I noticed that my daily traffic is increasing. So thank you for whoever is reading my blog and enjoying the photos. Keep checking back and more posts will be up soon. Thanks for reading!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love your blog, please continue like that.

Comment by charles

nice!

Comment by kady




Leave a Reply

