URBAN SETTING


SHEPARD FAIREY TAKES OVER HOUSTON&BOWERY

LOCATION: Houston & Bowery st NYC, NY

As any New Yorker who commonly visits soho the murals on Houston & Bowery seem to always define the neighborhood. From Keith Haring to Os Gemeos the wall on Houston represents a huge source of expression and art in a rather commercial neighborhood. As many have seen, the latest artist to take over the wall is none other than Shepard Fairy.

The new work has gotten plenty of attention, and not all of it positive. The Department of Buildings has dubbed the project illegal and slapped the project with a STOP WORK ORDER notice. In a thought of kindness they did paste the order on the side of mural. The mural has also gotten negative attention due to the fact that retired cops are guarding the work at night from taggers. Many other people believe  that the wall is not art but a billboard to advertise Fairey’s recent show MAY DAY exhibition at Deitch.

Wether you consider the mural art or an advertisement….hate it or love it…its Shepard Fairey. Keith Harings mural was incredible, Os Gemeos mural was amazing but when I saw Shepard Fairey a big smile came to my face.

The deep reds and impressive figures ad power to the wall. While I spent my time admiring the work I did not see one person not stop to take a closer look. The work seems to bring out the size of the wall and makes any spectator feel miniscule in comparison. I enjoy having the work there and seeing it everytime I pass Houston St. I hope people respect the work and let it stand in testimony to an artist who molded the industry.

After I spent some time at the mural I decided to stop by the OBEY pop up shop at 151 Orchard St.

I was hoping to pick up a print or two but none were on sale. So to add to my never ending tshirt collection I decided to buy one more. I found the design of the store to be excellent. The skate shops and clothing stores within the area all seem to have a hip hop urban fashion theme, which is fine by me but gets old fast. The OBEY pop up had a small rustic feel with wood burnt hangers, vintage persian rugs that seemed to be pulled from the trash, ripped black n white photos of Faireys work made into a collage on a section of wall and unframed photos of graffiti artists on another.

To top off the entire ambience the store was filled with music of old cool smooth jazz, not your recent Kenny G or Dave Koz but the classics like Miles Davis. Unfortunately the store will close May 16th. I wish this store could be a permanent fixture at this location. I’ll probably have to make another trip before it is gone for good.

Till next time……thanks for reading!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am glad that he pulled it off… Wondering why they hassle him so much for expressing himself. His art becomes some satirical irony…

Comment by Mo

Interesting as always…leaves me so anxious for the next mission! Congrats not only for the wonderful imagry…but, the story as well…

Comment by Kady

Art as a category of expression takes on many forms, including what Shepard Fairey is doing. From my vantage point, your photos, your writings and the entire process of urbansetting.wordpress.com is in that category as well. Another interesting, cool blog. Keep it up.

Comment by Lifelong Artist




Leave a Reply

